Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: transfer full C drive to empty D drive  (Read 2709 times)

chrisc

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    transfer full C drive to empty D drive
    « on: January 11, 2018, 07:01:18 AM »
    Hi I've a Lenovo ideapad 100s my C drive is nearly full and updates can't download I fitted  ssd 120Gb D drive but all updates try to download to my full C drive can I alter this or transfer some date my system reserve takes 25Gb and I only have 3.8Gb spare would really appreciate any help I'm a novice cheers

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    Re: transfer full C drive to empty D drive
    « Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 09:51:56 AM »
    You may want to do some research on Disk imaging...copy/move is inviting disaster.

I use Acronis True image ...not Free...but i can also recommend Easus to do...which has a Free version.

Basically what you are doing is imaging an exact copy of your HDD with everything...and moving it to a larger HDD...

Let us know.
    " Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    « Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 09:53:16 AM »
    BTW i would have gotten a 250G SSD minimum...120 gets eaten up real quick.
    Maybe you can return it and spend a bit more.

chrisc

Topic Starter

Starter

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 10:10:43 AM »
      Thanks for the help I've noticed my systems reserve is using 26GB of memory the HHD is only 28.8GB how can I reduce this cleaned up HHD but little or no difference why is it using so much any thoughts thanks

DaveLembke

Sage
      • Certifications: List
      • Computer: Specs
      • Experience: Expert
      « Reply #4 on: January 11, 2018, 11:28:48 AM »