Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need advice for PC upgrade  (Read 1905 times)

pannolas

Topic Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    Need advice for PC upgrade
    « on: February 17, 2018, 07:08:55 PM »
    Hello, i have this old PC and it's getting more difficult to play videogames with it. I just want to play with decent graphics, so i'm thinking on upgrading my system with new GPU and RAM (and SSD?) but i have no knowledge about new cards. Could you suggest me ? Or do you think it's not worth upgrading my system?

Here is the speccy link:   

http://speccy.piriform.com/results/Dvov3CFx8U8YoBi021bQaiG

Accept any advise, thanks!

Coco423

Intermediate

• Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: Need advice for PC upgrade
    « Reply #1 on: February 18, 2018, 10:39:19 AM »
    Have you tried upgrading the amount of RAM in your computer? You only have 4 GB RAM in your system. 6 - 8 GB RAM is reccomended for most games. So, 4 GB RAM is notthe best for video games.

Coco423

Intermediate

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2018, 10:48:18 AM »
    For the GPU upgrade - maybe a GTX 960 or at least a GTX 750ti if there are drivers avalible for your hardware and computer?

VintronNZ

Beginner

• Never a dumb question.
      • Certifications: List
      « Reply #3 on: February 18, 2018, 12:40:10 PM »
      Hi

You can do all 3 upgrades and get a reasonable machine.

First to buy and something most users can install is a Graphics Card the GTX 750ti which Coco423 suggested is a good start and will fit in your system. Keep the white or blue vga and other video covers from the card and use these with a little glue to cover the motherboard connectors. This stops mistakenly plugging the monitor into the wrong socket.