Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Win 7 to 10 upgrade ???  (Read 2618 times)

Rich73Kelly

Topic Starter

Rookie
    • Experience: Familiar
    Win 7 to 10 upgrade ???
    « on: February 27, 2018, 12:33:54 AM »
    I have opportunity to purchase a computer that has been upgraded from Win 7 to Win 10. This computer is a Dell Optiplex 390, with an Intel Core i5 Quadcore and has a fresh install of Windows 10 Professional. The guy that has it buys them by the pallet from the local Universities when THEY do upgrades, wipes them clean and does a fresh install. I got the computer I am using now from him and am quite happy with it. I had been using XP for over ten years so, updating was a big step for me ... Lol.
    Anyway, my question here is this, will this be a bad idea, as generally speaking, putting a newer OS on a computer designed for an older OS will bog it down and cause it to be slow and lag a lot. I am asking here because, I am confident, the well seasoned members will have the right answers.
      I've been shopping for another  computer for a couple of weeks now and have considered having one custom built so, in my ventures, visited a few local shops that do custom builds AND repairs. While doing these visits, I kinda pick at the techs brains ... They've all upgraded Win 7 or 8 systems to 10. I asked THEM the same thing I asked here. Their answers were all about the same and that was that Win 10 doesn't need or use near the resources that 7 or 8 does and should perform quite well.

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
    • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • BC-Programming.com
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Beginner
    Re: Win 7 to 10 upgrade ???
    « Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 12:57:49 AM »
    putting a newer OS on a computer designed for an older OS will bog it down and cause it to be slow and lag a lot.