Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: M.2 128 GB SSD  (Read 2326 times)

Jahness

Topic Starter

Beginner

• Yes
    • @pump_upp - best crypto pumps on telegram !
  • Experience: Expert
M.2 128 GB SSD
« on: April 20, 2018, 09:36:58 PM »
OK, I'm helping a friend with her laptop and something came up that I've never actually dealt with.
Specs are
Acer Aspire V5-591
M.2  128 GB SSD
1 TB HDD
Intel Core i7 @ GHz
8GB Ram

Problem is I cant see the SSD in device manager or Computer Management. The only reason it came up is she was trying to write files to it one day when she realized it's not showing up. I have no experience with these new ssd's since all my experience is from the older computers. I was wondering if maybe it's set up as a ready boost drive and kept hidden to prevent users from corrupting the files on it. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks
John

DaveLembke

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
Re: M.2 128 GB SSD
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2018, 09:48:51 PM »
If disk management doesnt show the drive attached then the drive is either dead or issue with sata cable etc. Whats disk management show for attached drives for the system?

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
  • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • BC-Programming.com
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2018, 12:10:34 AM »
I would expect with such a configuration for the SSD to be the boot drive.

From what I can find, the V5 doesn't come with an SSD. It is the more recent V15 models which come equipped with an SSD. The OS comes installed on it as well.

The V5 models sometimes have a smaller cache drive (8-16GB), that won't be visible in disk management but it should appear in device manager.
I was trying to dereference Null Pointers before it was cool.

Jahness

Topic Starter

Beginner

• Yes