Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: BIOS newbie error: RAID has caused SSD to 'dissapear'  (Read 2162 times)

GTree9

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

• Experience: Familiar
    BIOS newbie error: RAID has caused SSD to 'dissapear'
    « on: October 29, 2018, 04:25:43 PM »
    HI all first build computer,

I installed a CPU Fan and went onto BIOS to quickly see if it was working and it saw the option to enable RAID and it said it would increase performance so it seduced me because I'm new to this and like shiny things.

so i enabled RAID mode and it caused my SSD to disappear from the SATA Information and i have not been able get it back.

I have gone to PCH storage configuration and changed the SATA mode selection back to AHCI and still can't see my SSD in SATA information upon reboot.

Full spec;

Asus H370-a prime
    16gb Corsair vengeance ram
    I5 8400
    Gtx 1060
    Windows 10 pro

was only using the SSD so i had my OS on there (Windows 10). i have moved it back to AHCI in the BIOS options. Reset Defaults in BIOS. i have manually shorted on Mobo (although not sure how this worked as Asus manual said to turn computer off and then short the two pins with a screwdriver?) and have also reset CMOS by removing battery and shorting pins on Mobo still SSD cannot be found in Sata information.

I have no idea what else to do my computer can no longer recognise my SSD. have i broke it?

Thanks for reading and any suggestions.

Ajfer03

Intermediate
    • Your everyday nerd.
      • Yes
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: BIOS newbie error: RAID has caused SSD to 'dissapear'
    « Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 06:39:03 PM »
    Here are your troubleshooting steps.

1. Remove SSD From PC
    2. Try connecting drive to another computer. (If you cannot see the drive from the other computer, then the drive has most likely failed.)