Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: I have no desktop or start button please advise  (Read 15063 times)

computer_doofus

I have no desktop or start button please advise
« on: January 05, 2006, 02:56:14 PM »
 :o  I think I deleted  (by accident of course) the files which open the desktop icons. My PC starts fine but don't load nuttin on the screen. Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW I hope I am doing this right, it's my first time here forgive me!! Here is nall my PC info.......
Presario Compaq
Celeron Processor
800/100MHZ
128MB
SYS ROM DATE 1 04 01
SYS ROM FAMILY 686C3
SERIAL# 1X13JD4JE0FD

I had a firewall and several spy/adware programs . I recently did some updates. Ty in advance, computer_doofus   :)

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: I have no desktop or start button please advis
    « Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 03:02:34 PM »
    computer doofus...... What operating system are you using ?

dl65  ::)
    If you don't know the answer, it isn't a dumb question.

GX1_Man

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2006, 03:03:56 PM »
    What version of Windows? Can you do a system restore to yesterday or whenever it worked correctly? (This would be XP or Windows ME for restore.)

Peccavi

Adviser

• Hope Helps!
      « Reply #3 on: January 05, 2006, 03:05:55 PM »
      Everything is fine except posting, before searching the forum for your problem. This issue has been considered here:
      http://www.computerhope.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1133772430

have a good day... ;D
      Computer Hope: Rise of the Machines!

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2006, 03:11:27 PM »
        That should probably fix the issue .
        Please note that the poster is new here and may not be aware of the search feature .
        Hopefully it will work for Her .

« Last Edit: January 05, 2006, 11:42:35 PM by dl65 »

Peccavi

Adviser

• Hope Helps!