Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help, my computer problem is sending me insane  (Read 8663 times)

computernew

Help, my computer problem is sending me insane
« on: January 05, 2006, 04:08:02 PM »
Hello folks, im a newbie here and im having a nightmare with my computer at the moment.

Im running windows 2000 with an internal hard drive space of 17gb with 5.86gb of space free (also I have an external hard drive with 160 gb on it with 40 gb of space free). The problem im having, im not completely sure of, but this is what I keep getting on the screen from time to time....

"You are running low on virtual memory...." etc

I also get an alarm like sound from my computer tower which goes off from time to time and its unbelievably annoying. As I use my computer on a daily basis for internet and work purposes, it drives me insane as the alarm sound inside the tower just goes off randomly. I havent got a clue how to sort this out I tried looking up on websites about the problem but found hardly nothing to help me.

I was wondering if anybody could please help me sort out my problem. Thank you very much.

computernew aka Sean

GX1_Man

Re: Help, my computer problem is sending me insane
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 04:14:14 PM »
Sounds like a spyware/virus problem. I don't suppose you run any type of protection on a routine basis you would like to mention?

Fed

• Sage
    • Experience: Experienced
    « Reply #2 on: January 05, 2006, 04:15:19 PM »
    Check out your W2K help files, they are very good.
    Enter 'virtual' in the search thingie.

Managing Computer Memory