Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Can't install Windows 8.1 from Windows 10  (Read 140370 times)

Trains

Topic Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    Can't install Windows 8.1 from Windows 10
    « on: April 09, 2020, 08:32:53 AM »
    Hey! Sorry for my bad English in advance. :)
    So, I have a laptop. It had win 8.1 for years, it was stable and fast, everything fine. Then my dad decided that we should upgrade it to win 10. Problem is, my laptop can't handle win 10 very well. As I see it, 4 GB RAM is not enough. So I decided to install Win 8.1 back. The smartass I am, I've thought: "yes, I can do it myself, no matter that I have never done it before. YouTube tutorials will help."
    So I bought a win 8.1 online with key (reliable source, my win 10 is from here too), downloaded the file (4 GB), and watched a Ton of YouTube tutorials. I followed one step by step, and it went like this: burn the files for another virtual drive, run the setup file, go through the steps (agreements, language choice, etc), then wait and its done! Yeah, no. I've got this "compatibility report" message. For... 5 times?
    I tried to search for YouTube tutorials for this one specific problem, and one of them said that I should change the setup file's compatibility to win 8, and try to run it like that. I did, and to my surprise, it worked! Well, not so much, but my computer started to count the percentage of the installation process, it switched off and back a few times, I was so proud of myself, but then... Nothing. The computer started on win10, nothing has changed.