Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: 15-r132wm Laptop woes  (Read 2266 times)

6_stringbassman

Topic Starter

• Experience: Experienced
    15-r132wm Laptop woes
    « on: June 29, 2019, 02:47:10 PM »
    Hello All. I've been working on computers both desktop and laptops for 20+ years with great success but the aforementioned laptop has me stumped big time. That's why I'm here looking for help. Along with that perhaps I can help someone else too.

I'm not going to include any specs since I don't see how they would be related to this but I will supply if needed.

My problem is this....I was to replace the keyboard and if you've ever worked on one of these beasts you pretty much have to take it all apart to do so. In the process of that dis-assembly I unfortunately tore the little ribbon cable off of the on/off switch board. Bummer but no biggie right. I purchased a new one from ebay (all the numbers on it match the old one 100%) I plug it in to the connector, close the little clasp that holds it in place and NO JOY! It does not come on even though I have power to the laptop.

Long story short, I momentary shorted out 2 of the connections on the mobo side of the connector (just like you can on a desktop mobo) and the laptop comes on and works fine.

Bad switch assembly perhaps?  Nope, a 2nd purchase does not power it up. Bad connector? I purchased a replacement mobo and same exact problem, will not power up from the switch but the momentary short across the mobo side of the connector turns the computer on.

Now I'm pulling my hair! Any thoughts, etc. etc. will be appreciated.

Glen (da_bassman)

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: 15-r132wm Laptop woes
    « Reply #1 on: July 22, 2019, 02:34:30 PM »