Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: clock out of sync?  (Read 9263 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

teresa275

  • Guest
clock out of sync?
« on: January 25, 2006, 02:56:24 PM »
Whenever I try to scan for downloads on Microsoft Update I get the message

[Error number: 0x80072F8F]
  Your computer's date and time appear to be out of sync with an update certificate. To fix this:
1. In Control Panel, open Date and Time Properties.
2. Ensure that the date and time are correct.
 
 Read more about steps you can take to resolve this problem yourself.  

I did what it said, but my clock is correct, and nothing else helped.  Any suggestions? I can't get any updates from Microsoft, because I can't even see what I need.  Thanks for any and all help.

Fed

  • Moderator


  • Sage
  • Thanked: 35
    • Experience: Experienced
    • OS: Windows XP
    Re: clock out of sync?
    « Reply #1 on: January 25, 2006, 03:08:34 PM »
    Is your date correct too?
    Check this out http://www.updatexp.com/0x80072f8f.html
    « Last Edit: January 25, 2006, 03:10:21 PM by Fed »

    Fed

    • Moderator


    • Sage
    • Thanked: 35
      • Experience: Experienced
      • OS: Windows XP
      Re: clock out of sync?
      « Reply #2 on: January 25, 2006, 03:13:52 PM »
      Check this too http://www.worldtimeserver.com/atomic-clock/
      Computers were never designed to be clocks, that's why they can't keep time.

      teresa275

      • Guest
      Re: clock out of sync?
      « Reply #3 on: January 25, 2006, 03:38:56 PM »
      Yes, my clock and date and time zone are correct.  I downloaded the Automatic Clock Sync. Now it says "Software Upgrade for Some Windows Components Required" I clicked "download and install" and it downloaded the upgrades, but could not install them.   Thanks for the quick reply!!
      « Last Edit: January 25, 2006, 03:42:38 PM by teresa275 »

      Fed

      • Moderator


      • Sage
      • Thanked: 35
        • Experience: Experienced
        • OS: Windows XP
        Re: clock out of sync?
        « Reply #4 on: January 25, 2006, 03:50:04 PM »
        Did you try the second reccomendation?
        Quote
        Resolution Suggestion Two:

        # Re-register these important files and check IE settings:

        1. Click Start.
        2. Choose Run.
        3. In the Run box, type:    regsvr32 Mssip32.dll
        4. Click OK.
        5. Repeat this time typing:  regsvr32 Initpki.dll

        ...now

        6. Open Internet Explorer
        7. Select the Tools menu and then select Internet Options
        8. Choose the Advance tab
        9. Unselect 'check for server certificate revocation' reboot PC and test again!


        teresa275

        • Guest
        Re: clock out of sync?
        « Reply #5 on: January 25, 2006, 04:01:25 PM »
        Yes, and it said successful on both.  Thanks

        Fed

        • Moderator


        • Sage
        • Thanked: 35
          • Experience: Experienced
          • OS: Windows XP
          Re: clock out of sync?
          « Reply #6 on: January 25, 2006, 04:10:28 PM »
          And did you then...

          6. Open Internet Explorer
          7. Select the Tools menu and then select Internet Options
          8. Choose the Advance tab
          9. Unselect 'check for server certificate revocation' reboot PC and test again!

          Where is that 'pulling teeth' icon :-?

          Can you access Microsoft scan now?

          GX1_Man

          • Guest
          Re: clock out of sync?
          « Reply #7 on: January 25, 2006, 04:14:23 PM »
          PULL HARD, FED!!!!!   ;)

          teresa275

          • Guest
          Re: clock out of sync?
          « Reply #8 on: January 25, 2006, 04:23:50 PM »
          It was already unchecked.   I can get it to scan, and it says "Software Upgrade for Some Windows Components Required".  I click download and install and it downloads, but can't install.  

          Fed

          • Moderator


          • Sage
          • Thanked: 35
            • Experience: Experienced
            • OS: Windows XP
            Re: clock out of sync?
            « Reply #9 on: January 25, 2006, 04:34:18 PM »
            Did you reboot PC and test again!  ::)

            OK, so it looks like you are over your initial problem and now you have a new problem. Correct?
            PULL!

            Fed

            • Moderator


            • Sage
            • Thanked: 35
              • Experience: Experienced
              • OS: Windows XP
              Re: clock out of sync?
              « Reply #10 on: January 25, 2006, 04:34:55 PM »
              Blonde?

              teresa275

              • Guest
              Re: clock out of sync?
              « Reply #11 on: January 25, 2006, 04:43:03 PM »
              Yes, I suppose it is a new problem.  And NO I am not blond!!  Yes I did reboot and test again, and it actually installed 1 of the 4 downloaded components.  I guess it's a Microsoft problem now, huh?  I really appreciate all the help you have given me, and I still say you guys are the most helpful and the fastest of all the forums I have used.  Sorry if I wasn't specific enough in my answers, I'm still relatively new to this.  

              Fed

              • Moderator


              • Sage
              • Thanked: 35
                • Experience: Experienced
                • OS: Windows XP
                Re: clock out of sync?
                « Reply #12 on: January 25, 2006, 04:45:48 PM »
                Are you on dialup?

                teresa275

                • Guest
                Re: clock out of sync?
                « Reply #13 on: January 25, 2006, 04:47:32 PM »
                No, DSL from Alltel

                Fed

                • Moderator


                • Sage
                • Thanked: 35
                  • Experience: Experienced
                  • OS: Windows XP
                  Re: clock out of sync?
                  « Reply #14 on: January 25, 2006, 04:50:09 PM »
                  Try going back to Microsoft, re-scan & see what happens.