Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help needed with this batch file  (Read 9623 times)

Mnp01

Topic Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    Help needed with this batch file
    « on: May 19, 2020, 01:56:13 PM »
    Firstly I want to make it clear that I have no experience in this. Using Win 7 x64. I'm playing a game and somehow another program called Netlimiter is interfering with the game's online. With some experimentation, I figured out that if I close Netlimiter before starting the game, then start the game, then start that program again by Alt+Tab-ing to the desktop -- then the game runs fine.

After this discovery, the next thing that came to my mind was to have a batch script that could do it automatically and save me the hassle. But as I said, I have no experience in batch scripts or even DOS commands. I have been searching the web for almost a day and came up myself with this script that seems to work. I have put the batch file in the game folder.

Code: [Select]
    @echo off

Taskkill /F /IM NLClientApp.exe

start Monopoly.exe

TIMEOUT /T 10 /NOBREAK

start /d "C:\Program Files\Locktime Software\NetLimiter 4\" NLClientApp.exe

But then there is one annoyance. When Netlimiter starts again(in system tray), it switches my game back to the desktop and then I have to manually click on the game window to go back into the game. Is there any way the above script can be modified so that either this can be prevented, or maybe switch the focus back to the game automatically?

I'd really appreciate any help. I hope I have explained this well enough.

nil

• Global Moderator

• Intermediate
      • Experience: Experienced
      Re: Help needed with this batch file
      « Reply #1 on: May 19, 2020, 05:25:24 PM »
      I don't know of any way to execute a batch file without it taking application focus.