Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Computer won't boot up - need to run fsck from initramfs  (Read 120135 times)

willpell

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Computer won't boot up - need to run fsck from initramfs
    « on: June 22, 2020, 04:39:46 PM »
    I am a pretty novice computer user; not quite at the stereotypical "grandma" level where you have to explain what a browser is and how to operate a mouse, but not much above that.  I bought a secondhand laptop with Ubuntu installed on it and have been using it for a year with no issues, despite having no idea how to give a single command at the Linux command prompt; I always just turned it on and it started itself up just fine and went straight to my desktop.  The other day I accidentally screwed something up and now, after I turn the computer on, it stops at a screen with a bunch of code on it; the only phrases that make any sense to me are "Linux needs to run a manual fsck" and the command prompt, which is labeled (initramfs) and has a blinking cursor after it.  I have tried to type several commands, such as "fsck" or "manual fsck" or "run fsck", but none of these have done anything.  I have no idea how to fix this, and figuring out how to program in Linux is obviously too complicated for my tiny caveman brain to handle.  Can someone please just tell me what I can do to undo whatever problem I accidentally caused, run the necessary fsck to fix the file system, and get the computer to go back to turning itself on without any problem?  The store I bought the thing from has already refused to do any troubleshooting whatsoever, and my attempts at finding online help have been unproductive, since I easily get confused by the immense range of technical jargon that I can't handle even looking at.  I just need a step-by-step that i can use to make my computer magically fix itself, the same way it has always magically run its