Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: clean up laptop  (Read 9185 times)

Soviet_Genius

clean up laptop
« on: April 06, 2006, 06:43:25 PM »
i vh this old laptop:
Pentium 1 120 mhz
16 mb RAM
SVGA Video

I want to reformat the drive and reinstall Windows 98 on it beacuse there is a lot of spyware and viruses on it. First, I am a noob at this and have no clue how. Second, there is no floppy drive and when i boot up into the command prompt and try D:\ it says invalid drive selection, so i have no idea how to get a startup disk to work. It still boots into Windows 98SE normal mode, if that could help. Also I have a friend who has an external floppy drive that i might be able to borrow. Oh and also I obviously have a Windows 98 CD and there are Windows 98 setup files are on the HDD, but since i want to reformat those are probably useless.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2006, 06:46:14 PM by Soviet_Genius »

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: clean up laptop
    « Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 07:12:27 PM »
    Soviet Genius... Have you tried cleaning out all the bugs ?
    So the machine will boot up and run ok .... ?
    Do you have a Anti virus on in ?
    If you want to learn about cleaning your machine ....this would be a great way to start .

dl65  ::)
    « Last Edit: April 06, 2006, 07:15:59 PM by dl65 »
    If you don't know the answer, it isn't a dumb question.

Soviet_Genius

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2006, 01:41:52 PM »
    I'm not that stupid >:( I've tried many anti-virus and anti-spyware programs and they all make the system crash exept ad-aware and spybot- search and destroy I've also been able to set up a network on it and I scanned with norton from another computer through the network. it found 5 trojans and couln't remove any of them and I can't scan for them while it's in safe mode because there is no "sfe mode with networking" on the F8 screen

Dilbert

• Egghead