Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Multimedia Controller - Im new at this - help ;)  (Read 8278 times)

ComputerNewbie

Multimedia Controller - Im new at this - help ;)
« on: September 20, 2004, 04:39:03 PM »
I checked under my device manager and it shows an exclamation point next to "Multimedia Controller" under sound, video, and game controllers [this is on XP].

When I pick properties it says manufacturer unknown. Then location says PCI Slot 2 (PCI bus 0, device 15, function 0) - not sure what that is really.

under status it has:
The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)

To reinstall the drivers for this device, click Reinstall Driver.

Well, I have a big book of cds for drivers, and I ran them all through and it never recognized any of them as the correct driver. I don't even know what it is exactly or what driver to get or what website to go to... Im clueless.

Help please? Thanks.

Raptor

Re: Multimedia Controller - Im new at this - help
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2004, 05:19:59 AM »
That could be your On-board soundcard. Is it enabled in the BIOS? If you have a PCI soundcard installed, it most likely is.

ComputerNewbie

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2004, 11:53:58 AM »
Hmm...not sure if it is enabled in BIOS or not...

I know I have a creative labs soundcard or some such ... I think. *laughs*

But, does this mean I should go into BIOS and disable the sound card or something? Sorry, like the name says - ComputerNewbie =\

Thanks for the help, though.

Raptor

« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2004, 11:54:36 AM »
Are you experiencing problems related to the Multimedia controller?

ComputerNewbie

« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2004, 04:40:09 PM »