Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: lan hdd storage problems  (Read 7815 times)

vfcguy

lan hdd storage problems
« on: November 04, 2006, 02:27:08 PM »
I recently bougt a ns347 lan/usb enclosure. put in a hard drive formated to fat32 as instructed. ran the set up by typing in the ip address of the hdd 169.254.0.1 in my browser with the unit connected to my xp home computer. (new hp pavillion ) it show all the info for set up fine, untill I plug the unit into my microsoft m500n base station.  base station will not reconize the lan hdd.  I believe it has something to do with the dhcp addressing.  the unit will act as one if it does not see one in the network, the base station acts as the dhcp server. for some reason it will not assign an address to the lann hdd.  the address for base station default is 192.168.2.1 I am a rookie, so any help would be appreciated I think it has to have something to do with dhcp? I did try turning off the dhcp in the lan hdd setup after plugging it back into my xp computer but it did not help. it supposed to by default any way. any ideas would help!

GX1_Man

Re: lan hdd storage problems
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2006, 04:06:11 PM »
DHCP does not require you to pass in an IP. It assigns it every time it starts. See the info in the FAQ and in Rob's signature for basic info.

http://www.computerhope.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1147256597

vfcguy

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2006, 05:21:47 PM »
any ideas of why my microsoft base station will not assign an address to the ns347 lan hdd once it is connected, there must be a conflict, but where do i start....thanks for the patience......

mikewithaprob

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2006, 05:48:05 PM »
I think we should be thanking you for your patience  ;), I don't know anything about your problem but possibly calling the Help Line that came with your product might be a start if there is one.

vfcguy