Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need help connecting to company server from home  (Read 20124 times)

hifilie

Need help connecting to company server from home
« on: December 07, 2006, 08:43:24 AM »
Hello,

I'm trying to connect to my company's sever from home.  I'm the entire IT department.  I'm actually a programmer but I do other IT-related work also.  I've set up a sever and have configured the user accounts for the other office personnel to have access to the server by remote from their office computers.  All that works fine.  I've also set up the server as a RAS server.  However, I'm having difficulty in figuring out how to access the server from remote locations.  I was looking into setting up a VPN but there I can't seem to find any good free VPN client software.  In any case, networking isn't something I'm extremely knowledgeable about, so any information would be helpful.  I have been trying to use the Start -> Run command and typing in the server's address -- FQDN, IP address, and some random things, none of which have worked.  I keep getting a message saying "Path cannot be found."  I understand that since the remote computers are not connected to the company's domain so I can't simply type the server's name and presto it works.  However, I was hoping there's some other way to connect to the server from remote, preferably free and secure.

Thanks,
-One lost programmer

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy

• Systems Architect
    • Me
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Need help connecting to company server from ho
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2006, 12:27:49 PM »
VPN is your only realistic option, in this scenario.  Before giving any advice, I'd need to know a bit more about your environment.  What OSes are involved?  (Server, work PCs, home PCs.)  What routers are you using - home and office?  (Make and model please - they may have VPN capabilities.)