Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: "make install" help  (Read 7539 times)

fat_basterd21

Topic Starter

Apprentice

• Experience: Experienced
"make install" help
« on: January 07, 2007, 12:35:28 PM »
Im new to linux and learning how to install things my question is where do things get installed to using make install, and can i delete the folder that originaly contained the source....

example... I download example.tg and extract it to /home/user/example. I run ./configure, make, and make install... does this install it to /home/user/example. if not can I delete /home/user/example

also is it possible to uninstall

thanx n adv.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2007, 12:38:14 PM by fat_basterd21 »
CAPS LOCK IS CRUISE-CONTROL FOR COOL!!!

fat_basterd21

Topic Starter

Apprentice

• Experience: Experienced
Re: "make install" help
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2007, 05:52:24 PM »
WillyW pm'd me this so I decided to post it...

Hello,

You said you're new.... but you're way ahead of me.   Smiley      
 Right now,  I don't have a spare machine to use for linux,   but hopefully will someday.   So... I read.    And play with Live CDs.

Just this morning I was reading something online, that is closely related - I think - to what you are asking in this thread:

Quote:

"make install" help
 Today at 2:35pm Quote
 Im new to linux and learning how to install things my question is where do things get installed to using make install, and can i delete the folder that originaly contained the source....

example... I download example.tg and extract it to /home/user/example. I run ./configure, make, and make install... does this install it to /home/user/example. if not can I delete /home/user/example

I don't think it directly answers your question,  but I have the feeling that you might like to follow along.
 It is a thread on a linux forum.