Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Switching Processors  (Read 3679 times)

benjidgarrett

Switching Processors
« on: September 22, 2007, 11:58:23 AM »
I have three PC's and have different processors in all of them I suspect. I have one with a Celeron chip, one with a Pentium II chip, and the other has what I believe is a standard Pentium processor. Now, are any of these interchangeable or do I require different motherboards? I am an inquisitive self-taught kind of person and like to figure out how things work and if I can change things for the better. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jess607

Hopeful

Re: Switching Processors
    « Reply #1 on: September 22, 2007, 12:15:08 PM »
    No, those CPUs are not interchangable. They will only fit inside their own computers, respectively.

davyburns

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2007, 04:21:40 AM »
    Jess is Right, but just for your own info, have a look at some websites, and you will see there are a lot of different sockets with varying numbers of pins. If you need to change a CPU, you will have to get one that has the same socket, and number of pins as the one you are replacing - and make sure the motherboard will support it.
    Davy

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    • Experience: Beginner
    « Reply #3 on: September 23, 2007, 09:20:25 AM »
    Many Celerons and Pentium chips will run on the same MBoard...you will need to do some research to determine this however...
    " Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

davyburns

« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2007, 02:01:28 PM »
    I have yet to see a motherboard that support a Celeron and a Pentium 2 chip

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    • Experience: Beginner
    « Reply #5 on: September 23, 2007, 03:06:46 PM »
    I have yet to see a motherboard that support a Celeron and a Pentium 2 chip

Where did i say Pentium 2 ? ? ?