Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Can't get rebuilt computer to boot  (Read 3162 times)

Ravynwolvf

Can't get rebuilt computer to boot
« on: December 18, 2007, 11:01:36 AM »
I've been all over the internet trying to find help with this particular problem. I have built 2 computers before and tho I'm not an expert I have a good idea of what I am doing. Here is the problem. I am trying (have been trying for some time) to get my sisters computer up and running again (one I built). It just went dead, wouldn't power on or anything. I tried changing the power supply, nothing. So I took it home and ordered a new case with yet another power supply, hoping it was just a bad switch. When I put the board in and turned on the power supply switch everything started humming along immediately, but no video. She said she had also been having that problem where the computer would power on but the screen was blank. I managed to get it to come on all the way by fiddling with it once, but never again. Soooo...

Since i have ordered another motherboard, another video card, another hard drive(nothing to do with the problem obviously). So I sit here with two motherboards, two cases, two power supplies, two sticks of memory to try, two video cards, and no matter what combination I try I get the same thing.