Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Vista laptop registry files  (Read 2933 times)

prepone

Vista laptop registry files
« on: January 30, 2008, 03:50:41 PM »
I've been using Crap Cleaner for many many years, on my other home computers and I love it.

Having just bought a new Toshiba Vista laptop, I downloaded Crap Cleaner.
My question is: on the "issues" button, I've got tons and tons of registry files that Crap Cleaner has identified as invalid.
And of course very little info is displayed, so I'm wondering how safe it would be to start deleting some of these files.

Frankly it's amazing how many of these reg files appear, I've not done massive amounts of downloading and then un installing software on this laptop.

I certinaly don't want to delete someting that would screw up my laptop, should I start by deleting a few at a time (and backing them up to the desktop) in case they need to be merged back?

In advance,
Thanks

Anodoin

Intermediate

Re: Vista laptop registry files
    « Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 04:59:41 PM »
    It's always a good idea to make backups of the registry whenever you're messing with it, and safety never hurt anyone. 

That being said, make sure whichever version of crap cleaner you've got is meant to work with Vista.

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    • Experience: Beginner
    « Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 05:07:41 PM »
    It's always a good idea to make backups of the registry whenever you're messing with it, and safety never hurt anyone. 

That being said, make sure whichever version of crap cleaner you've got is meant to work with Vista.

Ignore this advice...as long as you have the CCleaner settings at default it automaticallt backs up the Registry...
    What issues are you having by the way ? ?
    " Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

prepone

« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2008, 04:50:32 PM »