Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: I can't burn pictures onto CD-RW anymore. Help! I'm running out of disk space!  (Read 13834 times)

newgranny

Topic Starter

Beginner

I'll be honest ... I know just enough about computers to get myself INTO trouble, but not necessarily OUT of trouble!

But, I haven't had a problem with my computer in the past couple of years because I've learned to read and ask questions before trying any 'fixes' by myself.

I have a Dell Dimension 4100, Intel Pentium III that originally came with Windows 98, but I've been running Windows XP for the last two years or so without a problem.

I run defrag weekly and run spyware and anti-virus scans daily.

I have a digital Nikon camera and take lots of pictures of my new grandson.  I organize them and put them into folders on my desktop.  I 'save' them with a photo editor to minimize their size and then I drag and drop the folder to my D: drive, which is my CD-RW drive.

This has worked without a hitch for over a year.

For the last few months it won't work!  The wizard will stop and tell me that it cannot write files to that drive because the CD is either full or corrupt. (paraphrasing)

I went to the store and bought new CD-RWs and I still get the same message!

Device manager tells me it is working properly.
    Under D: drive properties the box is checked to enable.

The only thing I can think of that could possibly be different in the last few months would be the automatic updates from Microsoft.

Because of the folders of photos sitting on my desktop my available disk space is getting quite low and my computer has slowed down dramatically.

I'm afraid my hard drive will crash, but I don't want to delete the precious photos of my grandson.

Can you give me any helpful suggestions?

Thank you so much!

ChrisXPPro

Adviser

• Forever Learning
      • ACB Systems
    • Computer: Specs