Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: External Hard Drive not recognized  (Read 6507 times)

Iwishiknew

Topic Starter

Beginner
    External Hard Drive not recognized
    « on: October 23, 2008, 04:33:40 PM »
    Hello, I have a Maxtor Diamondmax 10 hard drive that is in a case to make it external, i have been using it for 4 years but recently it stopped working. Windows does not recognize it. It is connected with USB. Doesn't show up in My computer or in Device Manager or in TweakUI. The strange thing is there are two letters for DVD drives listed on My Computer but i only have one (don't know if that is a hint). I've tried changing the USB ports, changing cables, turning off and on, the power supply seems to work as the led lights are on. I'm stuck... maybe it's the case that the HD is in ? can i install it internally to see if that works ? i never did that before  :-[ Please any advise is greatly appreciated as i have ALL my music and personal files on the HD and really need to recover the data. thank you ..

Windows XP Pro
    version 2002
    Sevice Pack 2
    Pentium 4
    2.41 GHz

ChrisXPPro

Adviser

• Forever Learning
      • ACB Systems
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: External Hard Drive not recognized
    « Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 05:22:16 PM »
    This thread of mine is only similar to a degree but - just could be you might find some ideas within it.

http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php?topic=60714
    Ain't technology great - until it goes wrong!

Iwishiknew

Topic Starter

Beginner
      « Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 09:20:58 PM »
      Thanks for the heads up Chris, i did scan through your thread and see there is a lot of info there but did you find a solution ? my hard disk doesn't even show up in Disk Management, i'm afraid it might be a right off....

ChrisXPPro

Adviser

• Forever Learning
        • ACB Systems