Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: beeping sounds!  (Read 17484 times)

need_ur_help

beeping sounds!
« on: June 04, 2004, 01:07:15 AM »
hey guys, im not a computer expert, and i really need ur help!

i have a pentium 4, windows 98 computer... for a few times already, my computer when you turn it on would produce these long beeping sounds... nothing on the monitor is shown... i tried to repeatedly press restart and sometimes i would be lucky that the pc works again fine but the monitor shows some stuff wherein i would just pick the SAVE CHANGES thingie....this would happen several times but it would come back to it working perfectly fine... one time, my brother encountered the same problem of the beeping sounds and when it stopped the same stuff showed up but he picked DISCARD CHANGES... the monitor then had this INSERT DISK. DISK BOOT ERROR thingie appeared... we finally contacted the computer store whre we bought it, the repairguy said the hard drive (im not sure though) was dirty and loose... he then fixed and cleaned it ...  for little less than two weeks, the computer worked fine but then the beeping sounds were there again... eventhough i try to restart it like before it won't work ok... what do you think is the problem? are my files safe? i wouldnt wanna contact the comp repair guy bcos the fee is quite expensive! please help! what do you advise?  ???
« Last Edit: June 04, 2004, 01:22:07 AM by need_ur_help »

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: beeping sounds!
    « Reply #1 on: June 04, 2004, 01:30:11 AM »
    need_ur_help.....Hummmmmmm...I would be looking for another service shop....however ......the beeps you hear
    are a function of the internal diagnostic feature of your machine......they all mean something.......So if you go to ....  http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm

or tell us how many beeps you hear and if they are long or short.....