Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: CPU usage  (Read 13012 times)

nate22

Topic Starter

Beginner

CPU usage
    « on: September 21, 2009, 10:40:33 PM »
    Hey,
    I recently started folding after reading about what the program does.
    I have my name and everything up and have X amount of points so far,yet i would like to boost how much the program uses my CPU.
    Is that even possible?! I'm running vista on the only rig I'm folding on (so far, I'm going to set more rigs up soon) and the CPU usage widget shows my CPU usage is around 30-40 %. Is there a way that i can boost to 100 % when I'm not using my rig, such as when I'm asleep or at school? But still able for my to turn down CPU usage when i use my rig for personal use?
    If there is please tell me and try and make it as simple as possible for me please. I'm new to this folding thing but am greatly interested in the program.

Ugarte

Beginner

Re: CPU usage
      « Reply #1 on: September 22, 2009, 03:35:51 AM »
      Are you running one of the F@H High Performance Clients?  I haven't tried the *normal* client, so I'm not sure if that amounts to much of a difference.  Regardless, seeing 50% CPU usage on a Quad Core is common.  I ran into the same problem, and asked about it on the F@H forums.  Long story short, the clients are "inefficient" when running on Windows, for whatever reason.  Even though I can pull up the Task Manager (Showing Processes from all users) and it lists 4 work units being folded, it runs each at 50% for whatever reason.