Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Microsoft Outlook gives me a "Operation cancelled due to restrictions  (Read 4984 times)

81 capt.

Topic Starter

Starter

Well, I am a beginner to all this so first Howdy! I am having an issue with my Outlook Express giving me an error whenever I try to go to a attached link on my email. I mean every link. The error reads: " operation cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact system administrator. I run a Windows XP and this just started about two weeks ago. A little help please, thanks

billrich

Re: Microsoft Outlook gives me a "Operation cancelled due to restrictions
    « Reply #1 on: November 15, 2009, 11:41:08 AM »
    Well, I am a beginner to all this so first Howdy! I am having an issue with my Outlook Express giving me an error whenever I try to go to a attached link on my email. I mean every link. The error reads: " operation canceled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact system administrator. I run a Windows XP and this just started about two weeks ago. A little help please, thanks

http://www.computer-aid.com.au/blog/2009/07/09/outlook-this-operation-has-been-cancelled-due-to-restrictions-in-effect-on-this-computer/

<<<"Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> set program access and defaults -> at this point, “custom” is normally highlighted… click on “custom -> choose default web browser -> pick the specific web browser you want to use (probably Internet explorer) -> OK
    I close IE8, and outlook express, restart outlook express, and links will now open IE8 when they are clicked on. Hooray!">>>

billrich

Re: Microsoft Outlook gives me a "Operation cancelled due to restrictions
    « Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 11:44:54 AM »