Computer history - 1952

Updated: 07/13/2023 by Computer Hope

Major computer events in 1952


Alexander Sandy Douglas created the first graphical computer game of Tic-Tac-Toe on an EDSAC (Electronic Delay Storage Automatic Calculator) known as "OXO."

In 1952, UNIVAC (Universal Automatic Computer) predicted the outcome of the US presidential election and introduced people to the computer.

New computer products and services introduced in 1952

701 ibm computer

IBM introduced the IBM 701 on May 21, 1952, the company's first production computer and a watershed in the computing industry. Designed primarily for scientific calculations, the 701 features the IBM-invented tape drive vacuum column, an innovation that paved the way for magnetic tape. The 701 was IBM's first electric computer and the first mass-produced computer. A total of 19,701 were produced and sold.

Fairly reliable working magnetic drum memories for use in computers began to be sold by Andrew Donald Booth and his father.

IBM introduced the magnetic tape drive vacuum column. Before the vacuum column, fragile magnetic tape was considered a viable storage medium but was plagued by breakages. Its use in the IBM 701 signaled the beginning of the era of magnetic storage, for its buffering technique would become widely adopted throughout the industry.

Computer and technology-related events in 1952

A complaint was filed against IBM for monopolistic practices in January 1952.

Geoffrey Dummer, a British radar engineer, introduced the integrated circuit concept at a tech conference in the United States on May 7, 1952.

The first ASR (automatic speech recognition) device was used to recognize single digits spoken by a user (it was not computer driven).

The Huffman code was introduced by David Huffman in his 1952 paper.

The APA style was introduced by the American Psychological Association as a 61-page manual in 1952, published in the peer-reviewed Psychological Bulletin.

Computer companies and organizations founded in 1952

RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) was established in 1952.

The NSA (National Security Agency) was formed on November 4, 1952.

Unit 8200 was founded in 1952.

Computer pioneers born in 1952

David Reed

David Reed was born on January 31, 1952.

Ralph Merkle was born on February 2, 1952.

Sugata Mitra was born on February 12, 1952.

Bernhard Thalheim was born on March 10, 1952.

John Dvorak was born on April 5, 1952.

Alan Cooper was born on June 3, 1952.

Adi Shamir was born on July 6, 1952.

Leonid Khachiyan was born on May 3, 1952.

Kevin Kelly was born on August 14, 1952.

Shigeru Miyamoto

Shigeru Miyamoto was born on November 16, 1952.

Thomas Siebel was born on November 20, 1952.

Craig Newmark was born on December 6, 1952.

Fred Baker was born in 1952.

Richard Lyon was born in 1952.

Robert Martin was born in 1952.

« 1951 - Computer History - 1953 »