How to delete a YouTube account

Updated: 01/31/2019 by Computer Hope
YouTube logo

YouTube is a great place to share and watch videos. However, if you're no longer using the service, we'll show you how to delete your YouTube account.

How to delete a YouTube account

To delete your YouTube account, follow these steps.

  1. Go to the YouTube website and click YouTube sign in button in the upper-right corner (if you're not already signed into your YouTube account).
  2. Click YouTube menu button in the upper-left corner of the screen.
  3. Select Settings from the menu that appears.

Settings selector in YouTube.

  1. In the center of the page, click View or change your account settings.

Link to view settings on a YouTube account.

  1. On the left side of the screen, select Data and personalization.

Data and personalization tab on a Google account.

  1. Scroll down to the Download, delete, or make a plan for your data section and click Delete a service or your account.

Selector that allows users to delete a Google service.

  1. Click the link to Delete a service.

Link to delete a service on a Google account.

  1. Type in your account password for verification.
  2. Click the trash icon next to the YouTube option.

Link to delete a YouTube account.

  1. Type in your account password for verification again.
  2. Click the down arrow next to I want to permanently delete my content (A).
  3. In the menu that appears, check the boxes (B) and then click the DELETE MY CONTENT button (C).

Menu where users may delete their YouTube content.