How do I disable the Windows Vista User Account Control?

Updated: 04/26/2017 by Computer Hope

Windows Vistas logoWhen entering locations that allow you to adjust system settings you may receive a prompt similar to the following, with the options to continue or cancel.

User Account Control
Windows needs your permission to continue
If you understand this action, continue.

Microsoft has included this feature in Windows Vista as an extra safety precaution to help prevent unauthorized access to your computer's data. Some examples of where you may get this prompt is when you attempt to open the Windows Registry, Device Manager, an Administrative Tools feature, managing accounts, etc. To disable this feature and prevent these prompts from occurring follow the steps below.

  1. Open the Control Panel.
  2. Open the User accounts icon.
  3. Within User accounts click Turn User Account Control on or off
  4. The User Account Control (UAC) window should open. If you want to disable UAC, uncheck the Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer and click Ok. If you want to enable this feature, check this option instead of unchecking it.
  5. After following the above steps you'll need to reboot your computer to complete this action.

Important: Disabling UAC will disable all of the following prompts:

  • "Windows needs your permission to continue"
  • "A program needs your permission to continue"
  • "An unidentified program wants access to your computer"
  • "This program has been blocked"

Additional information