Delete deceased persons e-mail, Facebook, or other account

Updated: 04/26/2017 by Computer Hope

Delete file imageUnfortunately, without usernames and passwords, it can be difficult and in some cases impossible to manage or delete a loved ones account. Below are some things that can be done to help make this process easier for you when deleting an e-mail, Facebook, Gmail, AOL, eBay, MySpace, Hotmail, YouTube, Yahoo, or other account.

Login from that users computer

Many users save their passwords and usernames on their computer. Sometimes logging into their accounts from their computers allow you to access the account and modify or delete it. Unfortunately, if you do not have the username and password for the computer this may not be possible.

Use forgot password

If you have access to the deceased persons e-mail account, it can be used to gain access to all other accounts. Use the forgot username or password feature found on the login page to send you the username and password to the e-mail.

Contact company

Non-transferable or accessible accounts

Some companies have strict policies when it comes to accessing or deleting a deceased account. These policies may prevent an account from being deleted, even if requested by a family member of the deceased. Many times, the only method of getting the account removed or accessible is by court order.

Other company accounts

If the company you want to cancel the account for is not listed above, we suggest calling that company for suggestions on how to cancel the account. A large listing of contact information for computer and Internet related companies is found on our third-party contacts page.

Stop payment

If the account you're wanting to change requires a payment, such as an e-mail account with an ISP like AOL, stopping the payment on that account will delete the account.

Let expire

In the case of e-mail accounts, letting the e-mail expire is often be enough for most people. Over time, an e-mail account fills up or expires (often within a year). However, this may not always be the case for every company. Before resorting to this last suggestion, make sure the company will remove the account if inactive.