How to delete a message or conversation from facebook

Updated: 06/22/2018 by Computer Hope

FacebookIf you are looking to delete individual messages or an entire conversation from your Facebook account, find the appropriate section below and follow the steps.

Before proceeding: Users should be aware that when they delete a message or conversation, it is permanently erased and cannot be recovered.

Note: These steps only remove a message or conversation from your account, not the one to which the message was sent.

Deleting a single message

  1. Log into your Facebook account.
  2. Select messages on the left-hand side of the Facebook homepage.
  3. Open the conversation containing the messages you'd like to delete.
  4. Select the Actions Menu Gear, and then select Delete Messages...
  5. Select the appropriate check boxes next to the message(s) you'd like to delete.
  6. Select Delete.

Deleting an entire conversation

  1. Log into your Facebook account.
  2. Select messages on the left-hand side of the Facebook homepage.
  3. Open the conversation you'd like to delete.
  4. Select the Actions Menu Gear, and then select Delete Conversation.