How to delete my Facebook account

Updated: 02/01/2021 by Computer Hope
Facebook

Even though Facebook is quite popular, sometimes people want to stop using their account for one reason or another. The following process permanently deletes your Facebook account, which means it is entirely erased and removed. To proceed, follow the steps in the section below.

Warning

Again, this is a permanent process, meaning that all your photos and conversations are lost. If you think you may return to Facebook in the future, you may want to deactivate your account instead of deleting it. See: How to deactivate a Facebook account.

Tip

You can also download all your Facebook data before you delete your account to have a record of all the pictures, video, and messages you've posted. See: How to download everything you've posted on Facebook.

How to delete your Facebook account

  1. Log into your Facebook account.
  2. Access the Facebook account deletion page.
  3. Click the Delete Account button on Facebook. button.
  4. In the window that opens, enter your password, then click the Continue button on Facebook. button.
  5. Finally, click the Facebook Delete Account button. button.

How to delete an old Facebook account if I forgot the password

Before an account can be deleted, you must be able to log into the account. If you forgot the password to the account or your password is not working, see: I forgot my Facebook password.