How to view and clear YouTube history

Updated: 11/30/2020 by Computer Hope
Youtube

Unless you're using Incognito or InPrivate mode, every site you visit on the Internet is recorded by your Internet browser. YouTube doesn't record your activity on other sites, but it does record which videos you've watched on its site. If you want to delete your watch history on YouTube, select the appropriate option below and follow the instructions.

View and clear watch history on YouTube website

To clear your YouTube watch history on their website, whether you're on a desktop, laptop, phone, or tablet, follow the instructions below.

  1. Go to the YouTube website and click YouTube sign in button in the upper-right corner (if you're not already signed in to your YouTube account).
  2. Click the menu YouTube menu button button in the upper-left corner of the screen.
  3. Click the History selector on the expanded menu that appears.

History selector

  1. If you want to clear your history, on the right side of the screen, you see a section with five options: Watch history, Search history, Comments, Community, and Live chat. Select one of the radio buttons, and click the CLEAR ALL WATCH HISTORY option.

Clear all

Tip

You can select Pause watch history to temporarily stop YouTube from keeping track of the videos you watch.

View and clear watch history on YouTube mobile app

YouTube mobile

If you are using the YouTube mobile app on a smartphone or tablet, you can clear your watch history by following the steps below.

  1. Open the YouTube app.
  2. If you're not signed in already, tap the three vertical dots in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. In the drop-down menu that appears, select Sign in, and pick an account.
  4. Tap the three dots again, select Settings, then History and privacy to view the history.
  5. To clear the history, select Clear watch history.
Tip

You can toggle the button next to Pause watch history to temporarily stop YouTube from keeping track of the videos you watch.

Manage YouTube history settings through MyActivity

Google released a utility called MyActivity that allows users to manage any history recorded when using one of its services, such as Google Maps or the Google Search bar. To manage the history of your YouTube account or any of Google's other services, see: How do I view, edit, and disable Google search history?