How to clear browser cookies and site permissions on exit

Updated: 07/31/2022 by Computer Hope
Internet browsers

Following the steps on this page causes your Internet browser to automatically delete cookies and site permissions recorded during your current session each time it is closed.

Using this feature is ideal for public computers. It helps prevent users from accessing private data like usernames, passwords, and other sensitive information entered by the person who previously used the computer.

Although this may help protect your privacy, we should note that cookies help to speed up your browsing experience, and clearing them can cause a minor hit to performance.

Tip

For steps on deleting all of your browser's cache and cookies, see: How to clear browser cache and cookies.

Note

The steps on this page do not clear your browsing history when you exit. That feature is only available in a few Internet browsers. For more information, see: How to clear browsing history on exit.

Chrome

Google Chrome logo
  1. Open the Google Chrome browser.
  2. Click the icon in the upper-right corner of the browser window.
  3. In the drop-down menu that appears, select Settings.

Chrome menu Settings selector

  1. On the left side, click the Privacy and security option.

Privacy and security selector

  1. In the Privacy and security section, click the Cookies and other site data selector.

Cookies and other site data selector

  1. Under General settings, click the toggle switch next to Clear cookies and site data when you close all windows so that it's in the on Toggle switch to the on position in Chrome. position.

Clear site data on exit.

  1. Your browser cookies and site data are cleared each time you close Chrome.

Mozilla Firefox

Firefox logo
  1. Open the Mozilla Firefox browser.
  2. Click the menu icon in the upper-right corner of the browser window.
  3. Select Settings from the drop-down menu.
  4. In the window that appears, click the Privacy & Security option in the left navigation pane.

Privacy and security selector.

  1. Scroll down to the Cookies and Site Data section and check the box next to Delete cookies and site data when Firefox is closed.

Clear site data and cookies on close

  1. Now your browser cookies and site data are cleared each time you close Firefox.

Microsoft Edge

Microsoft Edge logo
  1. Open the Microsoft Edge browser.
  2. Click the Settings and more icon in the upper-right corner of the browser window.
  3. In the drop-down menu, near the bottom, select Settings.

Settings selector in Edge

  1. Under the Settings section on the left, click Privacy, search, and services.

Site permissions selector

  1. In the Clear browsing data section, click the arrow to the right of Choose what to clear every time you close the browser.

Choose what to clear when you exit Edge

  1. Click the toggle switch next to Cookies and other site data to be in the on Toggle switched to the on position in Edge. position.

Clear cookies and other site data on close.

  1. Your browser cookies and site data are cleared each time you close Edge.

Opera

Opera logo
  1. Open the Opera browser.
  2. Click Menu button in Opera in the upper-left corner of the browser window.
  3. In the drop-down menu that appears, select Settings.

Opera settings selector

  1. In the window that appears, click Advanced Advanced button in Opera. on the left side of the screen, then click Privacy & security.

Opera Privacy selector

  1. In the Privacy and security section, click the Site Settings option.

Opera site settings selector

  1. Under the Content section, click the arrow next to Cookies and site data.

Cookies and site data selector

  1. Click the toggle switch next to Clear cookies and site data when you quit Opera so that it's in the on position.

Opera clear cookies and site data

  1. Your browser cookies and site data are cleared each time you close Opera.