Updated: 12/10/2023 by Computer Hope
Fortnite logo

Released on July 25, 2017, Fortnite is a video game created by Epic Games. There are three different gameplay modes. The first and most popular is Fortnite Battle Royale, a free-to-play battle royale game where 100 players fight one another until one player or squad is left standing. The second is Fortnite Creative, a mode that allows players to make worlds and arenas where they can battle others. The third mode is Fortnite: Save the World, a co-op version that allows up to four players to battle waves of zombies until they die.

Fortnite is available for Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. The battle royale version is also available for macOS, iOS, and Android devices. While Fortnite is free to download, there are Standard and Deluxe Editions for $39.99 and $59.99, respectively. These versions include additional features and items.


Fortnite was featured as a top term of 2017.

Is Fortnite available for mobile devices?

The iOS and Android clients of Fortnite Battle Royale were removed from the app stores on August 13, 2020, after Epic changed how V-bucks were purchased. Those who've installed Fortnite on their devices before this date could continue to play, but not get updates. The game can still be played via Xbox Cloud Gaming and GeForce Now on Android, iOS, and iPadOS devices.

What are V-Bucks?

V-Bucks are an in-game currency purchased with real-world money and can purchase a battle pass and a loot box to get cosmetic items.

Apex Legends, Battle Pass, Freemium, Game terms, Live service game, Microtransaction, P2W, PUBG, Season pass, Software terms