Updated: 10/11/2017 by Computer Hope
Haswell Processor

Haswell is the codename of a CPU (central processing unit) architecture developed by Intel, first announced to the public on June 4, 2013. They are part of the Intel series 8 and series 9 chipsets. The Haswell architecture uses the FinFET ("3D" or non-planar) transistor design with the 22 nanometer manufacturing process. The FinFET manufacturing process produces processors with both improved performance and increased power efficiency.

Compared to its technological predecessor, Ivy Bridge, Haswell achieves about 6% better sequential processing performance and runs about 15 degrees Celsius hotter.

Haswell sockets

Haswell processors use the following types of sockets.

  • LGA (land grid array) 1150 and LGA 2011-v3 for desktop machines.
  • PGA for some mobile devices and laptops.
  • BGA (ball grid array) for all-in-one PCs, Mini-ITX motherboards, tablets, and Ultrabook laptops.

Architecture, CPU terms, Intel, Motherboard