IEEE 802.11

Updated: 01/31/2019 by Computer Hope
ieee 802.11

Introduced by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) in June 1997, IEEE 802.11 is a standard used for wireless Ethernet networks. It defines the protocols for the physical layer and MAC (media access control) over a WLAN (wireless local area network). Below is each of the wireless IEEE standards currently available. Home users should only be concerned about 802.11a, 802.11b, or 802.11g for their networks.

Standard Description
IEEE 802.11 The initial release of the standard capable of transmissions of 1 to 2 Mbps and operates in the 2.4 GHz band.
IEEE 802.11a Capable of transmissions of up to 54 Mbps and operates in the 5 GHz band. 23 non-overlapping channels are available.
IEEE 802.11b Introduced in September 1999, 802.11b can transmit up to 11 Mbps and operates in the 2.4 GHz band, divided into 11 channels (3 that do not overlap with 802.11g). WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy) was introduced with 802.11b.
IEEE 802.11c Defines wireless bridge operations.
IEEE 802.11d Defines standards for companies developing wireless products in different countries.
IEEE 802.11e Defines enhancements to the 802.11 MAC for QoS (quality of service).
IEEE 802.11f Defines IAPP (Inter-Access Point Protocol).
IEEE 802.11g Capable of transmissions of up to 20 Mbps and operates in the 2.4, 3.6, and 5 GHz bands. 11 total channels are available, 3 of which do not overlap with 802.11b.
IEEE 802.11i Improved encryption with the introduction of WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access).
IEEE 802.11j 802.11 extension used in Japan.
IEEE 802.11n Operates using the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bandwidths. It utilizes MIMO (multiple-input and multiple-output) antennas to improve data transfer speeds. 12 non-overlapping channels are available at 20 MHz, or 6 channels at 40 MHz.

Cordless, IEEE 802 standards, Network terms, Phone terms, Roam, WAP, Wardriving, WEP, Wi-Fi, WPA