Updated: 10/17/2017 by Computer Hope

SDLC may refer to any of the following:

1. Short for synchronous data link control, SDLC is a data transmission protocol developed by IBM in the 1970s that is used by networks utilizing SNA (System Network Architecture).

2. Alternatively referred to as the waterfall model or software development life cycle, SDLC is short for systems development life cycle. It is a series of steps taken from the beginning to the end of a development.

The number of steps in the SDLC varies, depending on the person or organization using it. More commonly, the SDLC consists of five or six steps. The first five steps are very similar, if not the same. The sixth step is recognized by some people as part of the SDLC, while others do not.

SDLC steps

While the name of each step may vary, the five or six steps of the SDLC are often the following.

  1. Requirements gathering
  2. Design
  3. Development
  4. Testing
  5. Implementation or launch
  6. Maintenance or warranty

Computer acronyms, HDLC, Network terms, Protocol, SNA, Waterfall model