Delete files without getting a prompt
Usually, when you try to delete one or more files, Windows will prompt you to confirm before it deletes them. Sometimes this is inconvenient, however, especially if you need to delete a large number of files. If you're sure that you want to delete the files, and you don't want Windows to ask you before deleting them, follow these instructions.
Temporarily prevent prompt when deleting files
Holding down the Shift key when deleting files will disable the confirmation prompt only for the files you're currently deleting.
Permanently prevent the confirmation prompt when deleting
Delete files faster by removing the "Are you sure you want to delete" Microsoft Windows confirmation box for all files by right-clicking the Recycle Bin icon on the Desktop. In the pop-up menu, click Properties and uncheck Display delete confirmation dialog, as shown in the following picture. Once this has been done click the Ok box and now any file you delete will be immediately sent to the Recycle Bin, unless you also have the option to not move items to the Recycle Bin enabled.
- When I delete a file on my computer, where does it go?
- See our delete definition for further information and related links on this term.