Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Factory restore time  (Read 3048 times)

Angie27

Factory restore time
« on: April 15, 2016, 03:37:35 PM »
Hi,
            I am currently doing a factory restore on a acer laptop. The "restoring system" part went really quick and smooth. took about 10 mins. the Updating System chugged along nicely but a lot slower. Now it is on 99% and seems to be stuck (been on 99 for nearly an hour). the whole process has taken 1 hour and 48 mins. Is this normal or do I have a bigger problem??? It is my first time doing a factory reset so dont know if this is the norm or not. What do I do now??    Ok its been over an hour that its stuck on 99% now I give up but what happens next if I turn off will I be able to get back on to do anything or do I need to do something now or is all lost                                                                                                                                                                        
« Last Edit: April 15, 2016, 04:39:11 PM by Angie27 »

DaveLembke

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Factory restore time
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2016, 07:46:30 AM »
Is the restore media on a USB Stick or Discs, or is it just using the partition with the recovery media on it without USB stick or Discs?

To get hung at 99% could be caused by a corrupt system recovery media, hardware failure such as a ill hard drive, as well as RAM issue, or system board failure.

If you have your recovery media on a USB stick or Discs that is better than if its only on the hard drive to rebuild itself.

What is the model # of the acer laptop?