Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Moving microsoft office to new computer  (Read 29961 times)

Steve M

Topic Starter

Intermediate

Moving microsoft office to new computer
    « on: March 03, 2012, 05:08:46 AM »
    This is probably going to sound like a dumb question, but please bear in mind I'm a bit of a novice computer wise.
    We currently have a laptop but are getting a newer one. We might get a notebook, we're not totally sure yet. But how do we get our Microsft Office software onto the new computer/notepad as we can't find the discs (plus a notepad doesn't have a disc drive just usb's), and don't know if we have the activation key?

Raptor

Re: Moving microsoft office to new computer
    « Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 05:23:02 AM »
    LibreOffice is a good alternative: https://www.libreoffice.org/

Salmon Trout

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 05:46:00 AM »
    The short answer is probably going to be "you can't".

The longer answer is that:

Microsoft Office is made so that you have to install it from disc. Computer makers often create a disk image for each model that they sell, containing the appropriate version of Windows, complete with any preloaded software sold as part of the deal, which they clone onto each new computer at the end of the assembly process. Recovery discs are included which can bring the machine back to as-sold condition. These can be purchased in the event of loss. They are not suitable for use on other machines, both for technical and legal reasons, as you will gather below.

If Microsoft Office was pre-loaded on the older machine in this way then there is no way that is is technically possible to transfer that installation to another machine.  Nor would it be legal (in terms of the licensing status of the Office installation) to do so, even if you could physically do it, which you can't.