Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Problems running PCLinuxOS LiveCD  (Read 7826 times)

newbietone

Problems running PCLinuxOS LiveCD
« on: March 22, 2007, 06:13:55 AM »
I'm a newbie, although I have tinkered with Unix before today. I have just tried to run a PCLinuxOS v9.3 - big daddy - from my CD on an XP configured machine by simply altering the boot drive sequence. I get the list of boot options as expected and choose LIVECD - default. The PCLinuxOS coloured badge appears and starts the loading process, then I get an error message "ERROR: Unable to mount the livecd" - "dropping you to a limited shell". It then loads /initrd/bin/ash - ending with a message - "cant access tty; job control turned off" and then leaves me with the ash command prompt.

Bearing in mind this whole apparatus works perfectly well with XP at the moment and also that I have a perfectly normal IDE CD read drive unit, this was unexpected.

It looks very serious and basic to me - can anyone shed some light on what the problem might be / where to get help etc.

Many thanks - a newbie.

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy

• Systems Architect
    • Me
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Problems running PCLinuxOS LiveCD
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2007, 07:10:20 AM »
By far the easiest thing to do is simply try a different distribution.  What do you intend to use this Linux machine for?

Ubuntu, VectorLinux, SuSE and Fedora are all good alternative choices and there are many others.
Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

newbietone

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2007, 11:14:38 AM »