Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Can I configure Outlook to send, but not receive, email?  (Read 3660 times)

kaley

Can I configure Outlook to send, but not receive, email?
« on: March 23, 2010, 09:01:34 PM »
I work as a part time administrative assistant for a professor at a University. In the past, he has sent and received his University email through Outlook, and his administrative assistants have sent, but have not been able to receive/read his email, through a Eudora account on a separate computer. Our university made major changes to the network this past week, and Eudora no longer works in this capacity, and the campus IT people state that we can no longer use Eudora, and that it's not possible to use Outlook in this capacity.

Well...I'm not accepting 'not possible' as an answer just yet! Does anyone know if this is possible, and if so, how I can configure Outlook to function in this way? Would it be possible to just forward the email through the office computer Outlook account to my boss's computer, and delete it on forwarding? He's concerned about privacy, obviously. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

soybean

Genius
  • The first soybean ever to learn the computer.
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
Re: Can I configure Outlook to send, but not receive, email?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 10:33:57 PM »
Don't all faculty have a unique email address, such as [email protected]?  Does the university use Microsoft Exchange Server, for Outlook?

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
  • Geek After Dark
    • Gekk9pm bnlog
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 10:57:30 PM »
They really need to get this issue resolved internally. If members of the institution take matters into their own hands, the result will be e-mail anarchy.

Here is some information the IT head should think about.

Top alternatives to Microsoft Outlook  < link