Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: No video dislay on three different motherboards  (Read 2718 times)

oxymoron_02

Topic Starter

Greenhorn
    No video dislay on three different motherboards
    « on: June 22, 2010, 02:34:23 PM »
    A real doozy here for the boffins of CHF. First a small introduction, I work in a national electronics company, let's just call it maplans (although i've had customers call it that anyway) for now to avoid getting myself fired. As some of you may know, generally speaking at 'maplans' we know our tech, only very rarely does one of our guys let down the reputation.
    Of the team in the local branch I am the chief computer guy, the one the others come to if they have a computer problem they're not sure of. I'm self-taught over a period of 10+ years, and am pretty well-versed on the majority of computer related issues.

So here's what had me stumped, aswell as my customer today, and his brother (a Microsoft employee). He purchased a motherboard bundle, the Phenom 630 on an ECS board with 2GB 800MHz memory. Upon discovering he had no video output, the customer returned it and exchanged for another, exactly the same. Same problem.
    It was at this point after speaking to the customer on the phone that I volunteered to have a look at the system if he were to bring it in (and herein lies the reason behind my keeping some details vague; it is breaching the terms of my contract to tinker as 'maplan' does not account for experience or qualification due to insurance reasons).

I'll cut to the chase; the customer had done nothing wrong, and yet two subsequent boards had yielded the exact same failure; no video output, but even more unusual, no BIOS beeps to indicate a fault, even with monitor and keyboard unplugged.
    I suggested another bundle, and so the customer opted for the triple-core 9350, again on an ECS board and with 2GB 800MHz memory.