Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: desk top came up with no icons  (Read 3227 times)

tadsdad

Topic Starter

Starter

desk top came up with no icons
    « on: August 24, 2010, 08:19:39 PM »
    basically that's it. only thing i have been able to do is get the task manager pulled up with a soft boot (control alt delete). i can run new task and see files on my computer and i thought that if i could open and run my virus spyware it might find something corrupt and fix it. (it has worked great on things in the past), but it wont run. OK it is a dell laptop inspirion 1520 running windows xp home. i have no experience with dos programs except knowing that is probably necessary to fix these kinds of problems. yeah other things I'm trying to think of, i am supposed to be the only user and I'm almost always using a cable modem. And after checking i have all of the driver Cd's and reinstall CD for ms windows xp home edition service pack 2. I'm sure I'm forgetting something, just let me know . Thanks

UNSCSpartan3

Beginner

• Yes
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: desk top came up with no icons
    « Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 09:26:19 PM »
    run "explorer.exe" and see what happens

tadsdad

Topic Starter

Starter

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2010, 09:57:03 PM »
      my friend you are a miracle worker. Never in a million years did i think i would have my computer back so quick and easy.

tadsdad

Topic Starter

Starter

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 11:10:18 PM »