Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: I'm trying to build my own RPG-style game  (Read 5281 times)

icedragon668

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    I'm trying to build my own RPG-style game
    « on: November 07, 2010, 07:54:48 PM »
    I have some experience with a couple different programming languages, but very little with creating anything resembling a sophisticated, or even friendly, interface. I've heard that Flash is a reasonable approach, but I know ZERO about programming in/with flash. I am also only self taught...

What would be a good way to create an RPG-style game? Prefer open/free type options. Willing to learn a new language.

Linux711

Mentor

• Yes
      • Programming Blog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: I'm trying to build my own RPG-style game
    « Reply #1 on: November 08, 2010, 08:18:41 AM »
    It depends on if you want to learn in the process or just have a good game you can say you made.

Here are some options:

If you want a really fast and easy way to make an RPG without learning much, then you should use GameMaker.
    If you want to learn a new programming language and build your game from scratch, then use C with Allegro.
    If you want to make a 3D RPG game and don't want to learn much, then use Unity (not free).
    If you want to learn and want a 3D game, then use Irrlicht engine with C.
    If you want to create a game with a 'classic' feel, then use QBasic.

If you are interested in one of these options, I can give you more in-depth information.
    YouTube

"Genius is persistence, not brain power." - Me

"Insomnia is just a byproduct of, "It can't be done"" - LaVolpe

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
    • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • BC-Programming.com
    « Reply #2 on: November 08, 2010, 10:21:49 AM »