Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: How to install graphics card after it goes down  (Read 3050 times)

kylechanh

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    How to install graphics card after it goes down
    « on: November 23, 2010, 01:53:59 AM »
    Hi All,

Newbie here with a little computer knowledge.  My graphics card has gone out, meaning the display is all jumbled.  I have read the posts on how to install the card, but it seems that I would need to first uninstall existing driver.  But my current display is all jumbled and can't read anything.  Can I just install a new and different graphics card and boot up with existing driver?

I'm running Windows XP that will be using an AGP video card.  The old graphics card is an ATI All-in-Wonder 9600XT.  I'm not doing anymore gaming, so I'm just gonna get some cheap graphics card.  Was thinking that I would need to buy the same card (used off of ebay), but don't really trust buying used sensitive electronic items.

Thanks,

geek hoodlum

Apprentice
      • Yes
    • Experience: Familiar
    Re: How to install graphics card after it goes down
    « Reply #1 on: November 23, 2010, 02:25:47 AM »
    Hi kylechanh,

You can use a new graphics card but remember to install the driver as well. If you're not in gaming, you don't need high end cards. But a good one is a good investment. It depends on your usage. ;)

Quantos

Guru
    • Veni, Vidi, Vici
      • Yes
      • Yes
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Guru
    « Reply #2 on: November 23, 2010, 03:04:21 AM »
    If you boot into safe mode then Windows will use a generic driver for the new card, you can then install the driver from there.
    Evil is an exact science.

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
    • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • BC-Programming.com
    • Certifications: List
    « Reply #3 on: November 23, 2010, 03:12:25 AM »