Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: problem with .mdb file  (Read 3141 times)

Linguist64

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    problem with .mdb file
    « on: January 02, 2011, 05:23:56 PM »
    Hi there,

I have been sent two .mdb files as attachments. The first one is 1156K and opens without any problem in Microsoft Access. The second one is 124K, and will not open with Access. It appears in the Access sidebar as a .dbf and when I click on it I get a message saying that the filename is an invalid path. I have described this problem to the person who sent me the file, and he has resent it. However,  the same thing is still happening. The sender has told me that the document is "linked to an old Borland Database that is not longer in use".

I'd be grateful if someone could suggest how I might be able to open the document, or if opening it is even a possibility. I have no previous experience with sending or receiving database attachments. I've asked a couple of colleagues about the issue though, and they have been unable to help.

Thanks in advance!

Stephen 

soybean

Genius
    • The first soybean ever to learn the computer.
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: problem with .mdb file
    « Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 10:45:06 PM »
    I can't guarantee this will work but I'm suggesting you try OpenOffice.org; it has a database module which simply called Base.  See http://www.openoffice.org/product/base.html.  To use it, i you'll need to download (see http://download.openoffice.org/index.html) and install the full OpenOffice.org office suite.

truenorth

Guru

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 08:28:17 AM »