Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: What programme is running  (Read 3361 times)

neeidea

Topic Starter

Rookie

What programme is running
    « on: May 12, 2011, 10:53:57 AM »
    Hope this is the correct place to post.

Windows XP

Security..Avira Anti-Vir, Malwarebytes.

Everytime i switch my pc on it takes around 10 to 15 mins  before  my sky broadband screen appears where as i know i can then view the internet but there is a programme running all the time before that which i am convinced is the reason why its taking so long, dont know if its xp updating or one of my securitys updating,is there anyway i can find out, sorry if its double dutch bit im new to technology.cheers

truenorth

Guru

Re: What programme is running
      « Reply #1 on: May 12, 2011, 11:45:53 AM »
      In windows xp you can depress 'ctrl/shift/esc" together and that will show the "task manager" which displays all programs currently running on your computer as well as percentage of computer CPU usage. I am including a web link to enable you to become more knowledgeable re "task manager" truenorth
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Task_Manager

alexK

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2011, 03:27:01 PM »
      Correction needed:

For Windows XP you need to press  alt+ctrl+delete

Keep in mind that a Wireless LAN will take up to 15 minutes to get established if the Signal Strength is poor, like mine, 1 floor down, and drywalls.

Task Manager still does not give any Information from what is happening between pushing the Start Button and when the PC is fully up and running, and that is what you are looking for.