Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Hard drive recovery problems, windows 7, PLEASE HELP ME  (Read 2746 times)

VoxViolet

Hard drive recovery problems, windows 7, PLEASE HELP ME
« on: June 16, 2011, 07:13:54 PM »
My computer is a complete clutter. I'm a digital artist and i need to clean out everything so that my computer can run faster, and so i can reduce the lag on my tablet. Basically, I need to optimize what I have. So far I've backed up all of my essential data on an external hard drive, so I'm ready to begin the process. I have little to no experience with computers, so please be patient with me.

I run windows 7 on my computer, but i lost the disk. I need to find a way to restore my computer completely without removing my operating system, Is this possible?

I've been struggling with this problem for a week now, please help me.

-Sincerely, S.R.H.

hedgehog88

Beginner

• Experience: Beginner
    Re: Hard drive recovery problems, windows 7, PLEASE HELP ME
    « Reply #1 on: June 16, 2011, 08:32:49 PM »
    Hi VoxViolet,

If you have been using your computer for a long time, chances are you will not get the optimal desire you once had without reformatting your computer. Recovery would have required you to create a backup when you first got your computer. Seeing that you lost that disk, reformatting would be out of the question.

I'd say start uninstalling unnecessary/unused programs from your computer. I'd recommend using Revo Uninstaller. It has a feature which not only uninstall the program and its folders, but registries, icons, shortcuts etc. The process is pretty straight forward, but feel free to reply and PM me for assistance.

Give that a try and reply back once completed.

Linux711

Mentor

• Yes
      • Programming Blog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Experienced
    « Reply #2 on: June 16, 2011, 10:23:44 PM »