Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: line 16588 of inf file \i386\txtsetup.sif is invalid  (Read 14743 times)

volkerkh

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

• Experience: Beginner
    line 16588 of inf file \i386\txtsetup.sif is invalid
    « on: January 19, 2012, 10:20:14 PM »
    hello everyone,i am new at comp hope and ,yes,i hope to find some help.my name is Volker and i have the above problem with my thinkpad 600.i think i accidentally erased NTLDR and now can not boot.with NTLDR MISSING error showing and going in circles with ctrl+alt+delete to restart.i try to boot up with widows xp home edition re installation cd,service pack 2 included but it will not work.i  can get into the bios and set the cd as number one and the hdd number 2 but the  cd will not boot.same thing with hdd as  number 1.i installed xp last year from this cd and it ran fine.so what can i do about  the NTLDR problem and then what about this invalid inf. file which i guess is on the cd?i had thought i could just copy the NTLRD file from this cd!!but she will not boot. >:(    Volker

Salmon Trout

Re: line 16588 of inf file \i386\txtsetup.sif is invalid
    « Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 12:56:11 AM »
    You cannot boot from CD but you still say you get the message that line NNNNN of txtsetup.sif is invalid? This problem often happens with Windows install disk converted to USB flash drive with WinToFlash (because files get corrupted) Other causes are damaged CD or malfunctioning CD drive.

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    « Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 06:34:37 AM »
    It also hapens quite often with the "Sharpie" versions of Windows...
    " Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

fayaz

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2012, 06:54:47 AM »
      yep that is the answer for your question
      it s happening from your corrupted compact disk

volkerkh

Topic Starter

Greenhorn